メインコンテンツへスキップ

DSPCB 8 delete track

コメント

10件のコメント

  • 正式なコメント
    DesignSpark PCB

    This change was made due to a huge number of requests. It allows segments to be unrouted and leave the net connected to make track adjustments using the 'delete' key which is how most other PCB CAD packages operate.

    However should any user prefer the previous method of operation which deleted the track and the net then this can be restored I you 'preference' by unchecking the box indicated.

  • Brian Keen

    It would make life easier if the two track deletion options were always available to the user by using different keys rather than having to change a preference in a menu. Sometimes you want it to behave one way, sometimes the other depending on the length and complexity of the track you are editing.

    For example 'Delete' could give one option, while 'Shift+Delete' or 'Control+Delete' could give the other.

     

     

    0
  • Jayx .

    You can assign a keyboard shortcut to any function available in the menu (in Settings/Customize) so no problem, you can have different functions when you press 'Shift+Delete' or 'Control+Delete'.

    0
  • Brian Keen

    I find that if I try to use the new version 8 deletion method, I seem to be forever trying to locate and delete dangling track segments. Often these are hidden or hard to select as they are close to, or beneath, other objects. You end up having to temporarily move objects to find and select the unwanted segments, delete them, then move the objects back into their correct position. This is a time consuming and error prone process.

    0
  • Jayx .

    Which new method, "Delete Track Does Unroute"? It should unroute the whole track, not separate segments.

    For anything hidden underneath of the object simply turn off this object in Colors menu. You can also toggle between items using "Select Next" feature (default keyboard shortcut N)

    0
  • Boss .

    Dangling tracks can also easily be located after a DRC and then use the Interaction bar F9 and 'goto'--> 'errors' and select the dangling track reports. As you select each one they will be centralised and highlighted.

    I find I rarely get dangling track errors.
    I did have a mouse/driver issue which seemed to cause lots of errors back in the days of V3 or 4, but a new opti-mouse fixed that.
    Also by habit from when I had the above issues I also make sure I don't have the snap to grid too fine, I used say 1/2 the pad pitch and I got less errors then, so still do that, but haven't checked out the impact recently as it has not been an issue.

    0
  • Stephen Hughes

    A few comments on this. Firstly, I agree that having both options available without having to change preferences would be ideal - unless I'm missing something, Jayx's suggestion of assigning separate keys isn't possible as the two options aren't available at the same time.

    I'd also suggest a third option and to be honest the one I would have expected this change to implement - delete the whole track but keep the net connected between the component pads.

    For me, having to delete a track one segment at a time is usually no improvement as I generally want to go back and start again meaning having to delete lots of segments. It's easier to delete the track, lose the net and then forward design changes to reconnect it.

    0
  • DesignSpark PCB

    The option I illustrated previously on 25th Jan allows the new or old behaviour to be selected as the default behaviour.
    The new behaviour is recommended as it prevents removal of the net information and displays the 'air wire' for routing.

    A number of users over the years have not performed the required checking to reveal errors and have had their boards made with missing tracks. This has been identified primarily as being caused by the old 'Delete' assignment.

    Board checking has also been clarified with the FAQ
    https://designspark.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000933509-What-checks-should-I-perform-before-having-PCB-produced- 
    and it essential to perform the checks indicated.

    With the newly defined function of the 'Delete' key you may assign a shortcut that deletes the track, but leaves the net from Settings-->Customise.

    Here Ctrl+Delete is assigned to "Unroute track path.

    When used it will delete the track but leave the net air wire in place for routing.

    'Delete' will delete the segment allowing greater control or track changes.

    'CTRL+Delete' will remove all the tracks that the highlighted segment is attached to until a pad is reached.

    The above provides flexibility and security of retaining the net connectivity.

    0
  • Stephen Hughes

    Thanks, 'Unroute Track Path' is the option I wanted. Now I know that, the new delete style makes more sense, although I'll probably reverse the key assignments and use delete to remove the whole track and Ctrl-Delete to remove the segment.

    Are there any plans to update the documentation on DSPCB as a lot of these features appear to be ones you stumble on by chance rather than being able to read about anywhere.

    0
  • DesignSpark PCB

    We are continuing to add to the FAQ's and have new videos planned for the future.

    If you have suggested topics please create a new post and others can add to the list.

    New features are in
    https://designspark.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/sections/203132045-New-Release-Version-8-Full-Change-log and these can be used as a reference to the built in help

    0

サインインしてコメントを残してください。