Archiving projects to a central server in a shared environment
If you are using DesignSpark Electrical in an environment where colleagues are also using the software, it may be beneficial to create a central location to where all work can be saved. This should mean that a coherent library of work can be maintained and different users can access projects as necessary, for example to carry out amends.
Whilst it is possible to archive closed projects individually using the project manager menu, the more effective option is to archive the environment. This will ensure that any changes which may have been made by an individual designer, such as adding parts to libraries, will be saved along with the changes to the project.
The Archive Environment tool is found in the file tab.
A wizard will guide you through the stages of archiving, allowing you to configure the scope and frequency of the process.
After the data has been gathered you will be asked to finish the archive.
At this point you can select the location for the archive. Clearly it is vital that this location is accessible to all users.
Once the archive is complete you will be presented with a report on the process as the final step and you will be asked whether you want to open the folder.
Do note that DSE is not designed as a multi-user software (in the true sense of the word). The SQL database ensures a single version of the document is available for all network users but this does not mean more than one user can modify a project (or its pages) at a time. This restriction is logical, preventing mistakes such as double modifications or duplications on the same plane, and ensuring coherence throughout the project.